STORE SECURITY CAMERAS

Does anyone know if store security keep ID logs of shoppers who behave suspiciously? As a fellow creeper, should we be concerned by frequenting the same stores and malls? I wonder if surveillance cameras at stores like Target, Walmart, or shopping malls have facial recognition and if they use this to document me? Anyone with any inside info as to whether to be concerned? Don’t want to tip off security to creeping…

5 Likes

They probably know but as long as you’re not breaking the law you’re fine. ie: not in private areas/kids. From personal experience I worked in retail and my manager has seen people creeping but cant say anything since its corporate.

2 Likes

I work part time Asset Protection at a major retail store and from what I know none of the retailers have facial recognition. Obviously there are security cameras everywhere. In fact, we have about 100 cameras in my store. From my experience, surveillance videos are only saved for shoplifter incidents, customer accidents, and things like that. We have a guy in a wheelchair, who frequents our store, that I see take pictures of girls, and we don’t save any video of that guy.

2 Likes

Doesn’t stuff get reset and erased after a period of time too?

1 Like