Shooting Advice?

I’ve been shooting for a few years and i’m starting to get frustrated. I have the potential to get some of the best catches around but my open shooting is really limiting me. I would love to get more frontals and follows but it’s so hard as an open shooter. I would greatly appreciate some advice on a bag setup or some type of hidden setup so I can get better quality and follows and frontals…

I understand you may not want to share your secrets but please message me with some advice. I swear I’ll keep it to myself and get to work to produce some of the best candidates around.

As you can see there’s lots of potential, please help.

38 Likes

Im not a pro shooter at all but frontals and follows are easily achievable with a phone? Don’t you do any of the classics, fake call, nose/elbow scratch, etc?

3 Likes

It’s still hard to get more than a second or two doing the nose scratch but yeah id like to get longer frontals and Follows or long shooting is hard Because they will get suspicious If you keep following with phone in hand

What i do is enter with my phone already out. With my camera i have it set so the volume button takes the shots, or video if i want that. Shutter sounds off and light off of course (you know this already).

I’m not much of a video taker…but same concept applies.

1 Like

That’s why i combine it with other stuff. It helps when you know a place and can predict where they’re going. If following I’ll also break off / rejoin her path and I walk ahead often. It just makes me look less interested in her and more interested in the shop.

The fake phone call serves a few purposes, can get side & front shots if i walk ahead but i can also use it to project a friendly attitude and mention products in the store like I’m buying stuff for someone else. This makes it seem like I’m relaxed, actually shopping and not at all focussed on her.